EPHPHATHA

Special Service

Mummy Funmi Olusunmade

Bible Text: Mark 7:32-35

‘32 And they bring unto him one that was deaf, and had an impediment in his speech; and they beseech him to put his hand upon him.

33 And he took him aside from the multitude, and put his fingers into his ears, and he spit, and touched his tongue;

34And looking up to heaven, he sighed, and saith unto him, Ephphatha, that is, Be opened.

35 And straightway his ears were opened, and the string of his tongue was loosed, and he spake plain.

In John 5 we read of the story of the man who had been at the side of the pool where he ought to have gotten his healing for 38 years..because he had no man to help him into the waters when it was troubled!!!

Ist Corinthians 16:9 says:

‘For a great door and effectual is opened unto me, and there are many adversaries.’

Whilst these effectual doors have been opened to the man we read of in John chapter 5,there were adversaries, but today is the day of Ephphatha which means -be opened, and we are in the month of grace,every door that adversaries may have closed against you are opened in Jesus name.

Where keys, prayers, worship, or even praise do not open a door…GRACE will open it.

In Mark 7:32 we read of the man who was brought to Jesus who had a speech impediment, the people that brought him saw a source of solution, grace, power in Him…Jesus was able to fulfill His destiny because he stood in A PLACE Of grace, a place of POWER.

Acts 10:38

“ how God anointed Jesus of Nazareth with the Holy Spirit and power, and how he went around doing good and healing all who were under the power of the devil, because God was with him.”

God anointed Jesus and He could not sit still with this anointing, He went about doing good, He was compassionate.

In Luke 4:17-18

17 and the scroll of the prophet Isaiah was handed to him. Unrolling it, he found the place where it is written:

18 “The Spirit of the Lord is on me,
    because he has anointed me
    to proclaim good news to the poor.
He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners
    and recovery of sight for the blind,
to set the oppressed free’’

Then in Isaiah 61

The Spirit of the Sovereign Lord is on me,
    because the Lord has anointed me
    to proclaim good news to the poor.
He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
    to proclaim freedom for the captives
    and release from darkness for the prisoners,[a]
to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor
    and the day of vengeance of our God,
to comfort all who mourn,
    and provide for those who grieve in Zion—
to bestow on them a crown of beauty
    instead of ashes,
the oil of joy
    instead of mourning,
and a garment of praise
    instead of a spirit of despair.
They will be called oaks of righteousness,
    a planting of the Lord
    for the display of his splendor.

They will rebuild the ancient ruins
    and restore the places long devastated;
they will renew the ruined cities
    that have been devastated for generations.
Strangers will shepherd your flocks;
    foreigners will work your fields and vineyards.
And you will be called priests of the Lord,
    you will be named ministers of our God.
You will feed on the wealth of nations,
    and in their riches you will boast.

Instead of your shame
    you will receive a double portion,
and instead of disgrace
    you will rejoice in your inheritance.
And so you will inherit a double portion in your land,
    and everlasting joy will be yours.

“For I, the Lord, love justice;
    I hate robbery and wrongdoing.
In my faithfulness I will reward my people
    and make an everlasting covenant with them.
Their descendants will be known among the nations
    and their offspring among the peoples.
All who see them will acknowledge
    that they are a people the Lord has blessed.”

10 I delight greatly in the Lord;
    my soul rejoices in my God.
For he has clothed me with garments of salvation
    and arrayed me in a robe of his righteousness,
as a bridegroom adorns his head like a priest,
    and as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.
11 For as the soil makes the sprout come up
    and a garden causes seeds to grow,
so the Sovereign Lord will make righteousness
    and praise spring up before all nations.’’

 

You cannot fulfill your destiny except you are anointed, and the anointing on Jesus was the enablement for His miracles…To be sent you must have been anointed!!Do not send yourself….

In  the account of the speech impaired man brought to Jesus in Mark 7: 32, one of the people who probably brought the speech impaired man may have at one time or the other been under the ministration of Jesus or had heard about Him, which was what prompted their decision to also take their brother to Jesus.

For the door to open to you, you have to be at the place of your planting! Stay there and stop moving or roving around…..your door will be opened at the place of your planting..Do not go on a frolic of your own, sending yourself with no enablement (His ANOINTING).

Zechariah and his wife Elizabeth were barren, old but they continued in faithfulness, they kept on serving God and their miracle came. What circumstance has pushed you to feel it is over? That God has forgotten you? Be faithful in the little you have..He will always come through.

Proverbs 27:23

23 Be sure you know the condition of your flocks,
    give careful attention to your herds;

Jesus was available to people, people could come to Him, He did not make Himself into some demi-god(even though He was indeed God)..He was humble, He had compassion. Ministers, Pastors know your congregation, know their names, visit not just the wealthy or rich ones, know even that smelly couple…..

In Mark8:1-2: we read of the account of the feeding of the multitude, we see our Model showing compassion feeding people…

Remember Matthew 25:35-45

35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

41 “Then he will say to those on his left, ‘Depart from me, you who are cursed, into the eternal fire prepared for the devil and his angels. 42 For I was hungry and you gave me nothing to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me nothing to drink, 43 I was a stranger and you did not invite me in, I needed clothes and you did not clothe me, I was sick and in prison and you did not look after me.’

44 “They also will answer, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry or thirsty or a stranger or needing clothes or sick or in prison, and did not help you?’

45 “He will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’

 

Have a compassionate heart towards people, smile, have a listening heart…Jesus knew the people who came to him…Know the people of God, do not just minister to them in the Word, feed, clothe, help, pray for them.

Everything you are looking for is tied to service, serve in the place of your planting, there He will meet you serving and you will be anointed to do exploits.

Proverbs 14:10:

Each heart knows its own bitterness, and no one else can share its joy.

Amachie uwa gorge

As individuals, Christians, workers in the vineyard of God sometimes we tend to allow bitterness, problems, past hurts, delays, despair dictate, at times we may minister, sing, preach to others, bless their lives but we stop ourselves from being blessed because of all the excess luggage we bag around. Let it go, drop it all at His feet, Just one touch from God will change your situation, let go and let God.

Every individual has his or her own….but when you serve God will repackage your story…in Jenifa voice palkagingggg….

For the door to open, you must cooperate with your God, you must not be working on a parallel agenda different from His thoughts and plans for your life. Be still and know that He is God.

Obey Him, stay in the place of your planting, obey Him in ALL and everything….remember in Deut28:1

‘’If you fully obey the LORD your God and carefully keep all his commands that I am giving you today, the LORD your God will set you high above all the nations of the world.

He will set you above, IF (conditional promise) you obey ALL..not some, but all He commanded you. When you obey all His instructions, He will take you to the next place and then give you the next instruction…but when you refuse to, there is an Esther right behind you to kick your Vashti out…

Your Ephphatha is hinged on you serving HIM…Are you serving Him?

Service

God is tired of you doing nothing  for Him,…even paying people compliments is service, serve  God with everything He has given you….and on their own accord doors will open….

You cannot have a desire to serve God and sickness will tie you down

  1. Identify

Identify people with needs and bless them….let our anointing magnet people to God.

  1. Interpret

Interpret someone’s dream-Genesis 40:20.

Help someone realize their life’s dreams. Remember the story of Joseph, the butler and the baker? Whilst he-Joseph interpreted their dreams, his own interpretation came 10years after!

Help someone with your gift and help someone to his own destiny…interpret someone’s dream…give someone words of encouragement!! Instead of talking people down…lift them up…sow your time, sow your money, stay in the place where God has planted you.

Deuteronomy 12:13

‘’Be careful not to sacrifice your burnt offerings anywhere you please.’’

It’s not every where that God sent you….stay where He has asked you to….stop jumping about, jumping from one revival to deliverance, mountain to river….

Give someone your shoulders to lean on……….give someone room to confide in you.

If God has sent your somewhere He equips you. The bible says we should occupy-

Luke 19:13

And he called his ten servants, and delivered them ten pounds, and said unto them, Occupy till I come.

So when He calls you, anoints you, He then equips you..He does not let you go empty handed..And with what He has given you serve Him whole heartedly. see Luke 2:36

36 There was also a prophet, Anna, the daughter of Penuel, of the tribe of Asher. She was very old; she had lived with her husband seven years after her marriage,

37 and then was a widow until she was eighty-four.[a] She never left the temple but worshiped night and day, fasting and praying.

38 Coming up to them at that very moment, she gave thanks to God and spoke about the child to all who were looking forward to the redemption of Jerusalem.

God will open your doors…but you must be aware

  1. 2nd Timothy1:14

That good thing which was committed unto thee……God has given you something which he will ask you of.

b. Colossians 4:17

Take heed to the ministry, which you have received that you fulfill it. Should you sit and not serve….You are on your own.

c. 1 Corinthians 7:20 let every man abide in the same calling …..stay where you are called……..do       not hop about….searching for talents where you have not been sent or called….

Do not be like the sons of Sceva in Acts 19,stay in the ministry where God has called you,and as you do this God will open doors for you.

 

Prayer points

Lord I am set for you, where you want me to be I am ready..Lord I am here visit me show me what to do.

Lead me in the way I should go.

Father take me to the place of my planting, and open my doors.

Father help me this morning to do what you have destined for me today.

Let your word prevail of open doors in every area of my life, my family in Jesus name.

Father I command my heavens to open in the name of Jesus.

Father I decree by the unction of heaven, open my gates open continually, let blessing, healing, breakthrough flow to me and my family in the name of Jesus.

Lord according to your word in Isaiah 22:22, I receive the keys to my breakthrough this morning.

 

Leave a Reply

